Removing driver's seat back rest on a 400 - Suzuki Burgman Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2005, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Poster

Default Removing driver's seat back rest on a 400

Well, I am a newbie 400 rider (260 miles) and I wanted to see if by taking the back seat rest off, it would give me a little more leg room. I went out for a nice 120 mile ride last weekend and thought about stretching my legs a bit more. OK that said, I tried to unscrew the two screws that I believe are attached to the back rest and they were toqued so hard that I stripped both! Personally, they stripped a little too easily...I am not a muscle bound guy...

Ugh!!! Now I have to get something to get those puppies out.

Before I mess things up any more I was wondering if there was any illustrations on the forum for a simple how to and what to do with what I assume will be two holes in the backrest once I take the moveable rest out. This, of course, assumes I'll actually get the torqued screws out in the first place. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
mrm7592 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-10-2005, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Insane Poster

Send a message via Yahoo to Wyldman

A good pair of vice grip pliers will help immensely. Get a good grip, lock 'em up tight & turn 'em out.

Don't worry about reusing or even replacing the screws, they are only there to keep the backrest adjustment bars from coming out of the seat. They really aren't necessary.

Hope this helps...
My Gallery
Wyldman is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2005, 08:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Poster

Thanks, Wyldman. Any ideas about the holes that I will be leaving once the backrest is out?
mrm7592 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2008, 05:57 PM   #4 (permalink)

Default Re: Removing driver's seat back rest on a 400