Hello from MacProTX - Suzuki Burgman Forum
 9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 12:56 AM Thread Starter

Send a message via AIM to MacProTX Send a message via Skype™ to MacProTX
Hello from MacProTX

I'm Mike from Austin, Texas, and have just joined both this forum, and the community of Burgman riders. I've lusted after the Burgman 650 since it was introduced in the US in 2003, but thought I might never have one until circumstances came together last week. I now own a 2004 with 28K miles, and couldn't be more pleased.

As for me, I'm a computer professional based in Austin, working at the moment with very large databases for the State of Texas. I rode a Suzuki 380 for a year when I was 19 years old, then didn't touch motorcycles for 30 years, when I purchased a Honda Helix for primary transportation. (I did put in about 100,000 miles on high-end road bicycles, competing as a racer and acting as a coach, in my 30s and 40s. That two-wheel experience served me well when I came back to motos.)

I loved the Helix, and got 50K out of it before I let it run short of oil one day, but while it mostly went as fast as I needed or wanted, I always bemoaned the lack of anything left in hand at freeway speeds.

The Burgman has been everything that I missed in the Helix, and feels ever so much safer, rather than more dangerous.

I'll be kitting it out over the next few months as a daily driver, and a decent touring machine. On the to do list: a decent backrest (done, with a Jac Vinson conversion), taller windshield (probably Givi, but undecided), and a top box (definitely Givi, but looking for the best prices). Also looking to make some minor repairs in the Tupperware (got a couple of loose fasteners), and will need tires in a few months.

I've already learned a great deal courtesy of contributors to this forum, so let me start with a "thank you" to all of you.