Riding into Manhattan on my 400Ö Dare I try it? - Suzuki Burgman Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-05-2006, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Turbo Poster

Riding into Manhattan on my 400Ö Dare I try it?

I need some advice from you big city people.

Iíve read all about the adventures of guys crossing the Serengeti on their motorcycles, or traveling to Alaska and stuff like that Ė real heroic stuff - but I have an even bigger challenge in mind Ė Iím considering riding my 400 to Manhattan to visit my daughter.

Seriously, I live in a relatively rural area of Pennsylvania about three and a half hours from NYC, and Iím thinking of riding in to visit her. I have lots of experience here on rural parts of Interstate 80, so traveling at high speeds with lots of traffic doesnít bother me. Doing high speed twisties on a rural two-lane Ė no problem. But the big city?

What Iím concerned about, from the many times Iíve made the trip in my car, is the horrendous condition of the road surfaces - big gaping four-inch gaps between metal construction plates on the George Washington Bridge, potholes that would engulf a VW Beetle on the Henry Hudson Parkway Ė this all with traffic behind you traveling at 60 mph or faster.

Is it possible on a scooter? Am I crazy? Are there really people who ride in this stuff every day?

Iíll keep you informed. The trip is scheduled for next week.

- Tom (Feeling like a real country boob)

"I don't want a pickle, just want to ride my motor....sickle. And I don't want to die, just want to ride my motor... cy... cle."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-05-2006, 10:24 PM

I used to live in NYC. I would ride to Manhattan park it in a safe garage and take the subway to whatever you want to see. Its not worth the stress to ride in Manhattan. Everyone takes the subway in NYC.

2005 Yamaha Majesty
Galaxy Blue.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-06-2006, 12:29 AM
Administrator